HomeLocal News

Lee University announces Presser Award winner

From the Chattanoogan: Levi Deal, a music education major with an instrumental emphasis in piano from Copperhill, was named Lee University’s 2023 Presser Undergraduate Scholar. He was recognized for this honor during the Masterworks Concert.


The Presser Foundation, established by music publisher Theodore Presser, is dedicated solely to the support of music and music education. With its Undergraduate Scholar Award, the Pennsylvania-based foundation recognizes music students who exemplify high academic and musical accomplishment, leadership, and citizenship at accredited colleges and universities across the country.


“Voting for the annual Presser Award is one of the highlights of the year for our faculty,” said Dr. William Green, dean of Lee’s School of Music. “This year, the selection of Levi Deal was an excellent example of a student with high academic achievement who is fully invested in excellent musicianship, broad musical involvement, and service to the School of Music. I cannot imagine a more perfect candidate for the Presser Award.”


At Lee, Mr. Deal has been a member of Symphonic Band, Choral Union, Chamber Music, and Chamber Strings. He has also tutored for the music history class, and he currently works in the Phillip Thomas Music Resource Center.


“I am very humbled that the School of Music faculty chose me to receive this award,” said Mr. Deal. “I am grateful that my efforts have been recognized, and I’m honored to help represent Lee, especially by doing what I love to do.”


After graduation, Mr. Deal plans to pursue a career in music teaching.


As the 2023 Presser Scholar, Mr. Deal will receive a cash stipend for his upcoming school year.


Presser Undergraduate Scholar Awards are distributed to a number of accredited institutions throughout America. Past recipients of Lee University include Lynnae Eades (2022), Mary Nerren (2021), Lauren Mills (2020), Elizabeth Clark (2019), Danae Bromley (2018), Brittany Martin (2017), Kristiana McCombs (2016), Matthew Kelly (2015), Joey Archer (2014), Erica Tipton (2013), Matthew Wilkinson (2012), Lamprini Lindeman (2011), Christopher Oglesby (2010), Sabbath Ward (2009), Rachael Skidmore (2008), Michael Land (2007), and Brooke Upton (2006).


For more information on the Presser Foundation, visit https://presserfoundation.org/.