HomeLocal News

Local News for Monday, July 18th

Here is your Cleveland, Tenn. | Bradley County, Tenn. news on mymix1041.com, sponsored by Toyota of Cleveland: In news today… A public-private p

Here is your Cleveland, Tenn. | Bradley County, Tenn. news on mymix1041.com, sponsored by Toyota of Cleveland:

In news today…

A public-private partnership has not only preserved a piece of the city of Cleveland’s economic history but also opened the door for more residential and economic development in the city’s downtown, part of a long-term redevelopment process.

In recognition of the concerted efforts made by the city of Cleveland to breathe new life into their downtown while still preserving and protecting the historic aspects that make the area unique, the Tennessee Municipal League is pleased to present Cleveland with an award for Excellence in Downtown Revitalization and Historic Preservation. The award will be presented Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2022, at the 82nd Annual Conference of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) held at the Gatlinburg Convention Center.

The former Sanda Hosiery Mill, also known as the Cherokee Hosiery Mill, is part of the larger Old Woolen Mill District where numerous woolen mills and factories served as major employers from the late 1800s into the modern area. The Sanda Mill only closed operations in 2002 and served various uses until a public-private partnership between the city of Cleveland and Knoxville-based Lewis Group Architects planned to revitalize the former mill building into housing for Cleveland’s downtown.

Located on the National Register of Historic Places, the former mill building provides a great opportunity for residential development in downtown, helping grow the live portion of the city’s desire to make downtown a place to live, work, and play. By having more residents downtown, the opportunity for shopping, dining, and events expands greatly.

The more than 59,600 -square-foot mill is being turned into 52 loft apartments featuring both one and two-bedroom options. The mill project alone will nearly double the amount of apartment units available in downtown Cleveland to 111 total units.

From Local 3 News…

Two men are in police custody after allegedly vandalizing more than 150 headstone markers across two Tennessee cemeteries overnight Friday, according to officials.

The markers were overturned and damaged in the Cedar Grove and Wilson County Memorial Gardens cemeteries of Lebanon, Tennessee.

Local men Justin Emler, 31, and Jeremy Heaton, 23, have each been charged with one count of vandalism over $60,000, police said in a statement posted to Facebook Saturday.

Police said the pair also confessed to vandalism at the Lebanon Country Club, and additional charges are to follow.

Also from Local 3 News…

In a federal lawsuit filed by Attorney General Herbert H. Slatery III and 19 other states’ attorneys general, the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee has enjoined the U.S. Department of Education and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission from enforcing new, expansive, and unlawful guidance on federal antidiscrimination laws. 

The now-enjoined guidance attempted to force schools to allow biological males to compete on girls’ sports teams, to prohibit sex-separated showers and locker rooms, and to compel individuals to use biologically inaccurate preferred pronouns.

Attorney General Herbert H. Slatery III. said: “The District Court rightly recognized the federal government put Tennessee and other states in an impossible situation: choose between the threat of legal consequences including the withholding of federal funding- or altering our state laws to comply. Keep in mind these new, transformative rules were made without you- without your elected leaders in Congress having a say, which is what the law requires. We are thankful the Court put a stop to it, maintained the status quo as the lawsuit proceeds, and reminded the federal government it cannot direct its agencies to rewrite the law.”

The following states joined Tennessee on the lawsuit: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montafna, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, and West Virginia.